National association of certified firearms instructors

Permit to Carry-Illinois

**We will be offering 2 separate classes. Each class will provide 8 hours of training for a total of 16 hours that are needed.**


Basic Handgun Handling and Safety-8hrs

  • How to handle and fire a handgun safely
  • How to clean and care for your handgun
  • How revolvers and semiautos function
  • Understand your ammunition
  • How to safely store your handgun
  • How to select a handgun
  • A little history about handguns
  • Closing Q and A


Illinois Concealed Carry Class-8hrs

  • The importance of avoiding conflict
  • Use and threat of deadly force
  • Aftermath of a Defensive Gun Use(DGU)
  • Routine police encounters
  • Choosing a handgun to carry
  • Mechanics of everyday carry
  • Legalities of everyday carry-A walk through the law
  • Out of state travel
  • Principles of marksmanship
  • Shooting qualifications, goals and expectations
  • Closing Q and A
  • Illinois qualification shoot











What are the qualifications for the Illinois Concealed Carry License?


The applicant must be at least 21 years of age.


The applicant must possess a valid FOID card if they are an Illinois resident.


If the applicant is not an Illinois resident, then they must be eligible for an FOID card.


The applicant must successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training. This includes classroom and range instruction.

The applicant must pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm. This exercise will include no less than 30 rounds. 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards, 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards. These rounds will be fired at an ISP approved B-27 silhouette target.